When I was young…

Beginning today, I will be blogging once to a few times per week regarding social media.  I will touch on different topics, but they will all tie to one culprit: social media.

Social media can be a good thing, and it can be a bad thing.  Today, I’m going to talk a little bit about the bad.  I want to discuss how social media is affecting kids these days.  I have a ten year old sister, and this past Christmas she got an iPad.  Now, she LOVES her iPad.  And she is very good at working her iPad.  It is unbelievable how much her little brain has taken in from this thing.  For instance, just the other day, she showed me how to email multiple pictures at once.  I had no idea that was possible, and I have always thought that was a huge flaw in Apple’s software.  So, in that respect, it is awesome that my little sister knows a good deal about the current technology.

Now comes the bad stuff. ..the stuff that worries me.  My mom literally has to pry the iPad out of her hands some days and ground her from the iPad or she would never live the kind of life that my generation did when we were children.  We used to build forts in our backyards and try to “dig holes to China.”  My little sister would sit inside all day and play some hair salon app all day if she had the choice.  What does that mean for this upcoming generation?  If parents fail to play a crucial role when it comes to technology use, what will these kids see when they look back at their childhood?  An iPhone?  I found an article that kind of went along with this topic.  It is http://www.apa.org/news/press/releases/2011/08/social-kids.aspx.  Think on it a bit and let me know your thoughts!

Image

What will they see?

5 responses »

  1. I totally agree. I have a nephew who is only six and he has an Ipad. I am almost 23 and I don’t have an Ipad. While it is great to be fluent and well versed with technology, it is also just as important to know how to deal with your surroundings and everyday life hands on and not with the assistance of a touch screen.

  2. I couldn’t agree more. It completely surprises me at what a young age children get smart phones because when I was their age I didn’t even have a cell phone. I have a friend who has a two year old, and she can figured out how to take pictures of herself with an iPhone. I agree that children’s social media use should be regulated and monitored.

  3. I completely agree with you. I have also witnessed children as young as 2 years old pick up an iPhone and navigate themselves to the Angry Birds app and play away. While it can be impressive to see a kid do that we have to ask ourselves isn’t there other things we need to be teaching these kids at that age that are much more important than Angry Birds

  4. Agreed. Kids are spending too much time in front of a screen. I remember, when I was a kid, I would get the most excited about the Scholastic book fairs. Now, most of my little cousins’ schools don’t even have them and their teaching me how to use icloud. Such is life. I also think there should be stricter age restrictions on social media sites.. but I guess that’s more on the parents than the sites themselves.

Leave a Reply

